You are here

What can I eat in phase 1 of the South Beach Diet?

The South Beach Diet was started by Dr. Arthur Agatston. This type of diet allows even forbidden food like chocolate sponge cake and other food that are restricted in other types of diets. There are three phases of South Beach Diet. First phase of this diet excludes all kind of carbohydrates. Phase 2 of this diet includes some of the banned food. Phase 3 is the maintaining phase of the weight loss.


The phase one of South Beach Diet restricts you from eating any form of carbohydrates. You will be allowed to only a certain amount of food and you cannot gorge on food.

Your diet list includes vegetables, eggs, cheese, beef, turkey, salads, fish, etc. As you pass each phase of the diet, you will be adding more and more variety of food though in limited quantities.

Here is the list of food that you can have when you are in Phase 1 of South Beach Diet:
1) All types of fish
2) Eggs
3) Bacon
4) Ham
5) Pistachio
6) Peanuts
7) Green vegetables
8) Veal
9) Candies

These are the food items you should stay away from:
1) Alcohol
2) All kinds of breads
3) Fruits
4) Oats
5) Pasta
6) Pastries
7) Ducks, goose, poultry products
8) Ice cream
9) Fruit juice
10) Cheese

As in other diets, it is always advisable to consult the doctor first and introduce moderate amount exercises.

Rate This

Your rating: None
Average: 3.4 (2 votes)
What Can I Eat In Phase 1 Of The South Beach Diet?